Within the auspices of studz room of Cetinje, in 1883 the first Voluntary Theatre Company was formed in Cetinje, though the town had no theatre building. The company decided in 1884 to start initiative for construction of the theatre building. Donations for construction which will be named “Zetski dom” were coming not only from all areas of Montenegro, but from all countries of southern Slavs, as well as from abroad. This Slav Pantheon was finished in 1888 according to the design of the architect Josip Slade. In December that year the first play was staged “The Balkans Empress” by Prince Nikola I. The theatre had front facade in baroque style with a clock which was destroyed during a fire while Austrian Hungarian occupation 1916-1928. Former interior was not much different from the ambience of any European smaller theatre. Above the hall with 250 visitors capacity, there was a ceiling decorated with seven monumental paintings of arts muses whose authored was Czech painter Ženišek who decorated the famous Narodni divadlo in a similar way. This mythical building hosted almost all most significant names of ex-Yugoslav actors as well as many significant foreign artists. Today the edifice functions as the Royal Theatre.
In 1884 the construction of heir’s palace was finished, and in its corner stone a song by Prince Nikola was chiselled. The building, lately referred to as Blue Palace represents one of the most beautiful buildings of the urban tissue of Cetinje. The architect of this lovely edifice built in the manner of late empire is not known. Te construction of the heir’s palace was very significant for Cetinje, as after the works started, Montenegrin ruler stated that Cetinje will remain permanent historic capital of Montenegro after which the town began rapid development and expansion. In the period between wars and during World War II in this elegant building with pilasters made of red teraco stones with golden capitals the Great High School was placed. Today the palace serves as a gallery.
Unlike some other European forces who accommodated their missions to Cetinje into luxurious building, the building of English embassy was designed as a cottage, discreet and well incorporated into the environment. It was built to former Hotel Lokanda, according to the design of English architect Harty in 1912. In this lovely building with a closed porch, after the English left, the following took turns: the residence of Banus of Zeta, residence of the President of Montenegro, the club of cultural and public employees, City Library, study room Njegoš and today the premises are used for Musical Academy.
Catholic Church of Saint Antun
In creation of recognisable European ambience of Cetinje, special quality was provided by designer work of Italian Architect Corradini. In 1901, according to his design, and following the approval from Prince Nikola, the construction of Catholic Church of Saint Antun began. Due to complexity of the design which needed a lot of financial support, the first construction deal line was not met, but, it was finished in 1912, significantly reduced.